When one door closes…

…another one opens.  As my summer in Hershey is off to a running start, I realize just how true this really is. I think of how many doors have closed, and how many have then opened to get me where I am today.

The sermon at the church I went to a couple of weeks ago focused on doors and really got me thinking about how much my life has changed and how much I’ve grown over the last four years ago. Three years ago I thought I had my whole life figured out; what kind of career I’d have, where I’d be living, and who I’d be spending my life with. But then one big door closed and I was lost for a while. The pastor said once you walk though a door, you are exposed to whatever is on the other side and if you stay in the room long enough, you become like the room. As I think back on things now, I realize I was becoming like the room I was in, and it really wasn’t a place I wanted to be and the person I was becoming wasn’t the person I wanted to be either. So when that door closed, I thought my life was over because I didn’t know what to be besides the room.

I remember reading my bible and I came across these verses in Hebrews that really spoke to me and are now some of my favorites. 

So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised. Hebrews 10:35-36

These two verses took me back to God and made me realize what was missing from my relationship with Him. The pastor said when you are in a place you shouldn’t be, return to God and this was exactly what I had done.

The pastor then went on to discuss Joel 2:12-27 and how these verses relate to decision making and he gave four steps to follow.

  1. Rend your heart.
  2. Fellowship with others.
  3. Realize God has entered the battle with you and He is pushing you to better things. Sometimes God stirs things up in our lives to push us to something better by setting us free. (How true!)
  4. Don’t be afraid; rather be glad and rejoice

Finally, the pastor talked about all the rewards God promises in these verses which again seem to tie in with those verses in Hebrews I love so much. So today, I have no idea where I will end up working or what kind of job I will have, where I’ll be living or even who I will be spending the rest of my life with. And I’m okay with that, because I know that He has a plan for me and once I have done His will, I will be rewarded.

Thank goodness for closed doors.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

