#18. Get mom and dad to go on vacation.

Well, it happened. Dad finally took a vacation. Actually, he took two vacations.  Mom and Dad spent a few days in Branson with some friends before heading out with Carina to see me in Hershey. Obviously I have no pictures from their Branson trip, but I know they had a good time. They went to several shows, museums, and some other Branson hot spots. I’m sure it was a great getaway for them.

After their Branson trip, they were home just long enough to sleep and pick up Carina before making the two day drive to Pennsylvania. They got there on my last day of work and over the next few days we were able to see the hot spots of Hershey (The Hershey Story, Chocolate World, Hershey Gardens, HersheyPark, etc.) and we made a day trip to Gettysburg where we found the name of a long lost relative who fought for Pennsylvania during the Civil War. It was great to show the family all the cool things I got to do this summer and give them a tour of my favorite places.

Summer 2009 567

We waited until 10:30 so we could get into HersheyPark for free. We had 30 minutes at the park and we were able to get a few rides in. We all rode “The Kissing Tower” which gives you a really cool view of the entire town of Hershey. It was an especially great view at night!

Summer 2009 637

One of my favorite Hershey spots is definitely Hershey Gardens. I wish I’d spent more time there this summer. This big tree provided lots of shade and a great setting for a family photo.

Summer 2009 645

Mom and Dad with the Kissmobile at Hershey Gardens. I would love to take a ride in this thing…although I don’t think I’d trust myself driving it!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#18. Get mom and dad to go on vacation.

  1. Oh lovely, it sounds like a great vacation! Love the photos, Hershey looks brilliant.

Leave a Reply

