#54. Pasta with No-Cook Tomato Sauce

I have a habit of tearing recipes out of magazines anytime I see something that I think looks appetizing. Over the last several years I’ve torn out quite a few recipes and placed them in a file to go through when I have some free time. When do I ever have free time?!

I did finally get a chance to go through my “unofficial” recipe collection, weeding out recipes I’ll NEVER make, and keeping some to try. I roughly planned out some meals for a few weeks, allowing me to try some new recipes and continuing making progress on my list.

I’m definitely a pasta lover so quite a few of my collected recipes involve pasta is some form or another. The first recipe I tried this week was Pasta with No-Cook Tomato Sauce. Definitely a quick and easy recipe and a delicious meal. I’m now adding this recipe to my “official” collection!

Pasta with No-Cook Tomato Sauce

  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 pound medium pasta shells
  • 2 pounds tomatoes, cored and coarsely chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T grated lemon peel
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced
  • Grated parmesan cheese
  1. In a cup, combine the garlic and olive oil. In a large pot of boiling water, cook pasta until al dente, about 11 minutes. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup pasta cooking water.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, crush the tomatoes with your hands; season with salt and pepper.
  3. Remove garlic from the olive oil and discard. Add the garlic oil, butter and lemon peel to the tomatoes. Add the pasta and toss, adding a splash of the reserved pasta cooking water to thin the suace, if necessary. Add the basil and season with salt and pepper; toss. Serve with the parmesan.

I made a few minor modifications. I missed the part about reserving the pasta water, but I didn’t find it necessary to thin the sauce. I also substituted margarine instead of butter, and left out the grated lemon peel basically because I had no way to grate my lemon. I added a little lemon juice instead.

Look for more new recipes in the weeks to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

