#20. Spend a weekend with Grandma and Grandpa.

Since I was gone all summer and missed birthdays and family reunions, it had been awhile since I had seen my grandparents. Things have been really crazy with school and whatnot, especially with Thanksgiving break in the very near future. With an extremely crazy week behind me I decided a trip to my grandparents would be a relaxing weekend. My cousins were also playing in the sub-state football game, so it was nice to finally go to one of their games. Smith Center beat Oakley 33-20 in a well played game by both teams, extending Smith Center’s winning streak to 79. My uncle told me out of those 79, that was the hardest win. Guess I picked a good game to go to! I spent the rest of the weekend hanging out with my grandparents while relaxing and doing absolutely nothing. It was exactly what I needed.

These boys have the coolest entrance I’ve ever seen at a high school game. The atmosphere was amazing as well. Smith Center definitely loves their football team! #29 is one of my cousins.

The famous Coach Barta. My uncle was on the team that got his first win and my cousins are now on the team which got his 300th win several weeks ago.

If you want a great book to read and want to learn more about the story of Coach Barta and the football tradition of Smith Center, check out the book Our Boys.

What a great weekend and opportunity to continue with my list. I’m so thankful I could spend the weekend with my amazing grandparents!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

