#83. Read Captivating.

I set out to read two books over Christmas break and with all the snow, I finished them much quicker than planned. On my New Year’s visit to Manhattan, I grabbed Captivating to take home for another read.

Captivating is by John and Stasi Eldredge and its goal is to “unveil the mystery of a woman’s soul.” I think after reading this I understand just how mysterious my soul really is. My eyes were opened to multiple aspects of a woman’s soul that I had never considered. There were also multiple sections that really spoke to me.

Forgiveness is a choice. It is not a feeling–don’t try and feel forgiving. It is an act of the will. “Don’t wait to forgive until you feel like forgiving, ” wrote Neil Anderson. “You will never get there. Feelings take time to heal after the choice to forgive is made.” We allow God to bring the hurt up from our past, for “if your forgiveness doesn’t visit the emotional core of your life, it will be incomplete,” said Anderson. We acknowledge that it hurt, that it mattered, and we choose to extend forgiveness to those who hurt us. This is NOT saying, “It didn’t really matter”; it is NOT saying “I probably deserved part of it anyway.” Forgiveness says, “It was wrong. Very wrong. It mattered, hurt me deeply. And I release you. I give you to God.”

I also enjoyed the passages about Mary and Martha (Luke 10:38-42). I think so many women are caught up in the busyness of life (Martha) and forget to take time for Him and the important things in life (Mary). I know I for one need to work more on having Mary’s heart in this Martha driven world.

After reading Captivating, I realize there are some people I need to forgive and this book explained exactly how to do that. Forgiveness, along with having a Mary heart are both areas I’m going to strive for. Oh, and don’t forget working on unveiling the mystery of my soul…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

