#15. Visit Oakley

My first trip to western Kansas with two of my best friends. Don’t think I could ask for a better weekend!

Lisa and I have been trying to plan a trip to Oakley for about a year (ha) and we were finally able to make it waaaay out there. I got to see all the local hot spots and enjoy a relaxing weekend away from Manhattan.

Laura, Lisa, and I set out on our journey Friday afternoon and broke up the trip with a stop in Catharine, Kansas. Cutest little town with a gorgeous church.

Lisa’s mom took us out to eat Friday night and then we enjoyed some midnight pie at Mittens. I also got the tour of Oakley and now know where everyone lives. Saturday we ate lunch at the famous Don’s followed with ice cream from Dairy King. Probably one of the best hamburgers I’ve ever had. Delicious.

We spent the afternoon riding Bubba (the horse) and seeing some other local sites.

We were hoping to catch a western Kansas sunset at Monument Rocks, but unfortunately it was cloudy. Still a very cool place to check out…I had no idea something like this could be found in Kansas! I thought I was back in Arizona for a minute, especially after seeing yucca growing everywhere.

Thanks so much for a great weekend girls. I’m so thankful for your friendship and will definitely miss you next year! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

