#51. Make Grandma Edith’s peanut butter balls

When I was younger, I remember my Grandma making peanut balls every Christmas. She would keep them in the extra bedroom downstairs where it was cold and sometimes she would let me sneak one after school.

It’s been awhile since she’s made them and I’ve been wanting to make them for several years. While Phil was home with me during Christmas break, we decided to try our hand at Grandma’s peanut butter balls.

We opted to make bars rather than balls, and somehow I failed to get a picture of the final product. They were almost as good as grandmas – guess I need a little more practice.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup butter or margarine (melted)
  • 3 cups peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 12 oz package chocolate chips

Melt butter, blend in peanut butter and vanilla. Knead together and shape into balls the size of walnuts (or spray a baking dish and spread evenly). Let cool completely. Melt 12 oz package of chocolate chips. Dip balls in chocolate and spread over bars. Let cool and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

