#47. Do touristy things in the city I am placed for my internship.

Hershey, Pennsylvania. My home (I guess technically I was living in Hummelstown) for the last year while I completed my dietetic internship through Penn State. Since I spent last summer working in Hershey (in addition to the previous summer), I had lots of time to hit all the tourist spots not only in Hershey, but the surrounding areas as well.

Here’s my list of places not to miss if you’re ever in the Hershey and Central Pennsylvania area. I started to include pictures, but I have way too many to choose from. So if you’re my friend on Facebook, check them out there or if you’re really that desperate to see these great places, leave me a comment.

  1. Hershey Gardens – I visited during all 4 seasons, but I think spring is my favorite. I love the tulips!
  2. The Hershey Story – Learn about the man behind the town.
  3. Hotel Hershey – Be sure to check out The Chocolate Spa and The Formal Gardens out back. The Circular Dining Room is a pretty cool restaurant to visit (but make sure you save you $$).
  4. Chocolate Word – Love the singing cows! Also, make your own chocolate bar, take a trolley ride, and check out the 3D show.
  5. Gettysburg – Wish I remembered more from history class. For you Kansans, President Eisenhower’s farm is worth a visit as well.
  6. Appalachian Trail – Hard to find, but totally worth it!
  7. Lancaster – Watch out for the Amish Buggies in the countryside. Check out the actual city of Lancaster too.
  8. Roots Market – Get great deals on produce!
  9. The Hershey Pantry – My favorite restaurant. Try the stuffed French toast and hot chocolate!
  10. Hersheypark – Expensive, but fun. Go for the last 30 minutes of the day and it’s free! You can visit ZooAmerica from here as well.
  11. Watch the Hershey Bears play hockey at the GIANT Center. Catch concerts here too.
  12. Visit State College in July to check out Arts Fest.
  13. Walk the bridge to City Island in Harrisburg. Check out Restaurant Row/2nd Street.
  14. Ricketts Glen State Park – Breathtaking views of waterfalls.
  15. King of Prussia is a HUGE mall. Prepare to spend the whole day here.
  16. Indian Echo Caverns – Great tour and a hidden gem of the area.
  17. Longwood Gardens – Hershey Gardens x 100. If you make this trip, drive a little further and cross the line into Delaware.
  18. Fallingwater – I want to move here. Too bad the house doesn’t meet any safety codes!
  19. Lititz – Make your own pretzels and find Wilbur Chocolate.
  20. Haar’s Drive-In Theatre for a movie night.
  21. Enjoy a morning coffee at Cocoa Beanery, a coffee shop in an old farmhouse. Super cute.
  22. Visit the local breweries for some great food (and beer if you’re into that).
  23. Restaurant week is a great way to check out some of the more expensive restaurants (i.e. The Circular Dining Room). Chocolate Covered February has some great events as well.
  24. Eat ice cream. It’s everywhere.
  25. Baltimore, Philly, DC and NYC are all close and make a great day trip. Try out the Amtrak – it’s pretty much amazing, convenient and not that expensive.

I’m sure I missed some hot spots (probably the most obvious ones), but here’s a list to get you started. So long Hershey. Next place to explore more – State College.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

