Refrigerator Pickles

As I was perusing the Farmer’s Market last week, I came across some Kirby cucumbers and pickles instantly came to mind. Being the impulse shopper that I am, I bought a quart of cucumbers and figured I’d worry about making pickles later (never mind that I don’t even have a canner). After searching Google, consulting my mom, and scouring several cookbooks, I finally found a recipe for pickles that didn’t require a canner and could simply be made in the refrigerator. I just cracked open my first jar for a taste and I am pretty impressed with myself!

If pickles aren’t your thing, don’t shy away from cucumbers! These beauties provide a healthy dose of potassium, vitamin K, magnesium, and fiber and are great served in salads or with dip.

Refrigerator Pickles

Yield: 2 pints

  •  1 quart Kirby cucumbers (I weighed mine and it was approximately 1½ pounds)
  • ¾ cup vinegar
  • ¾ cup water (I used filtered)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons dill seed
  • ¼ teaspoon mustard seed
  • ¼ teaspoon dill (add more if you prefer)
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • ½ cup onion, chopped
  1. Wash and dry cucumbers. Chop ends off and slice into spears.
  2. Combine vinegar, water and salt in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
  3. While brine is coming to a boil, equally divide the dill seed, mustard seed, dill, garlic, and onion between two pint jars.
  4. Without crushing the cucumber spears, pack as tightly as possibly into the jars.
  5. Divide the brine between the jars, leaving ¼ inch headspace (the space from the top of the jar to the food or liquid in the jar).
  6. Place lids tightly on jars and allow them to cool. Once cool, refrigerate and let cure for a least one day. Store in the refrigerator for up to one month.

Note: These pickles are not shelf stable. Keep them in the fridge!

 Adapted from Food in Jars

Do you have a refrigerator pickle recipe? 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

