Very Berry Overnight Oats

I guess I’m a little late to the “overnight oats” party. Better late than never, I suppose.

I have been reading about the overnight oats craze for quite awhile, however, and this weekend seemed as good as time as any to finally try a recipe out myself.

My weekday breakfast does not vary much from my usual oatmeal and hot tea. After discovering Better Oats during my internship, I have been hooked on these for my morning meal (and it’s seriously genius that the oatmeal packet doubles as the measuring cup). Anyway, after attempting my own overnight oats, I’m convinced these will begin to make an appearance in my breakfast lineup. They are easy to grab in the morning and the preparation is relatively minimal. The hardest part is deciding on the flavors to experiment with!

Very Berry Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt (I used vanilla)
  • pinch of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup mixed berries (approximately)

Directions

  • Combine all ingredients (I used a Mason jar), stir, cover and refrigerate overnight. 
  • Enjoy hot or cold the next morning.

I used steel cut oats, but you can easily use rolled oats. Both are whole grains (remember to make half of your grains whole!) and a good source of fiber. The milk and Greek yogurt provide a protein punch and the berries round out the meal for a balanced breakfast. The only thing missing are the vegetables!

I think my next attempt will be apple cinnamon.

Have you tried overnight oats? What is your go-to recipe?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Very Berry Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

